Season calendar

The following nineteen Grands Prix are currently scheduled to take place in 2014.[5][63][64]

Round Grand Prix Circuit Date
1 Australian Grand Prix Australia Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne 16 March
2 Malaysian Grand Prix Malaysia Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur 30 March
3 Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir 6 April
4 Chinese Grand Prix China Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai 20 April
5 Spanish Grand Prix Spain Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona 11 May
6 Monaco Grand Prix Monaco Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo 25 May
7 Canadian Grand Prix Canada Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal 8 June
8 Austrian Grand Prix Austria Red Bull Ring, Spielberg 22 June
9 British Grand Prix United Kingdom Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone 6 July
10 German Grand Prix Germany Hockenheimring, Hockenheim 20 July
11 Hungarian Grand Prix Hungary Hungaroring, Budapest 27 July
12 Belgian Grand Prix Belgium Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Francorchamps 24 August
13 Italian Grand Prix Italy Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza 7 September
14 Singapore Grand Prix Singapore Marina Bay Street Circuit, Marina Bay 21 September
15 Japanese Grand Prix Japan Suzuka Circuit, Suzuka 5 October
16 Russian Grand Prix Russia Sochi International Street Circuit, Sochi 12 October
17 United States Grand Prix United States Circuit of the Americas, Austin, Texas 2 November
18 Brazilian Grand Prix Brazil Autódromo José Carlos Pace, Săo Paulo 9 November
19 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix United Arab Emirates Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi 23 November

2014 Formula One season

The 2014 Formula One season will be the 65th season of the Formula One World Championship, a motor racing championship for Formula One cars which is recognised by the sport's governing body, the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA), as the highest class of competition for open-wheel racing cars. Eleven teams and twenty-two drivers will compete in nineteen Grands Prix for the World Drivers' and World Constructors' Championships.

In 2014, the championship will see the introduction of a revised engine formula, in which the 2.4 litre V8 engine configuration—previously used between 2006 and 2013—will be replaced with a new formula specifying a 1.6 litre turbocharged V6 engine that incorporates an energy recovery system into its build. The 2014 calendar will feature substantial revisions from the 2013 season. The Russian Grand Prix will be held for the first time at the Sochi International Street Circuit in Sochi, and the Austrian Grand Prix will be revived, with the race to be held at the Red Bull Ring in Spielberg. The Indian Grand Prix will be discontinued for one year ahead of a move to an early-season date in 2015, whilst the Korean Grand Prix has been removed from the schedule entirely.

Sebastian Vettel will start the season as the defending Drivers' Champion after securing his fourth consecutive title at the 2013 Indian Grand Prix. His team, Red Bull Racing, will start the season as the defending Constructors' Champions, having also won their fourth consecutive championship in India.

Signed teams and drivers

The following teams and drivers are scheduled to take part in the 2014 season. However, their participation depends on the teams agreeing to continue competing in the sport under the terms of a new Concorde Agreement.[7]

On 10 January 2014, the FIA published a provisional entry list for the 2014 season.[8][9]

Teams and drivers who will compete in Grands Prix
Team Constructor Chassis Engine Tyre No. Drivers
Malaysia Caterham F1 Team CaterhamRenault TBA Renault Energy F1-2014[10][11] P 9 Sweden Marcus Ericsson[12][13]
10 Japan Kamui Kobayashi[12][13]
Italy Scuderia Ferrari Ferrari TBA Ferrari 059/3[14] P 7 Finland Kimi Räikkönen[15]
14 Spain Fernando Alonso[16]
India Sahara Force India F1 Team Force IndiaMercedes VJM07[17] Mercedes PU106A Hybrid[18][19] P 11 Mexico Sergio Pérez[20]
27 Germany Nico Hülkenberg[21]
United Kingdom Lotus F1 Team Lotus-Renault E22[22] Renault Energy F1-2014[11][23] P 8 France Romain Grosjean[24]
13 Venezuela Pastor Maldonado[24]
Russia Marussia F1 Team MarussiaFerrari MR03[25] Ferrari 059/3[14][26] P 4 United Kingdom Max Chilton[27]
17 France Jules Bianchi[28]
United Kingdom McLaren Mercedes[29] McLarenMercedes MP4-29[30] Mercedes PU106A Hybrid[19][31] P 20 Denmark Kevin Magnussen[32]
22 United Kingdom Jenson Button[33]
Germany Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team Mercedes F1 W05[34] Mercedes PU106A Hybrid[19] P 6 Germany Nico Rosberg[35]
44 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton[36]
Austria Infiniti Red Bull Racing Red BullRenault RB10[37] Renault Energy F1-2014[11][38] P 1 (5)* Germany Sebastian Vettel[39]
3 Australia Daniel Ricciardo[40]
Switzerland Sauber F1 Team SauberFerrari C33[41] Ferrari 059/3[14][42] P 21 Mexico Esteban Gutiérrez[43]
99 Germany Adrian Sutil[44]
Italy Scuderia Toro Rosso Toro RossoRenault STR9[45] Renault Energy F1-2014[11][38] P 25 France Jean-Éric Vergne[46]
26 Russia Daniil Kvyat[46]
United Kingdom Williams F1 Team WilliamsMercedes FW36[47] Mercedes PU106A Hybrid[19][48] P 19 Brazil Felipe Massa[49]
77 Finland Valtteri Bottas[49]

(*) Vettel has chosen the driver number 5, but will use his right to the number 1 as the current World Champion driver.

Team changes

  • In 2011, former British American Racing team principal Craig Pollock announced the formation of Propulsion Universelle et Recuperation d'Energie (commonly known by its acronym, PURE), and signalled his intentions to enter the sport in 2014 as a customer engine supplier, with the full support of the FIA.[50] However, the engine programme was eventually suspended in July 2012 due to problems regarding funding,[51] and was ultimately unable to secure any clients.[23]
  • Cosworth elected not to build an engine to fit the 2014 generation of regulations.[52] This decision prompted Marussia, the only team using Cosworth engines during the 2013 season, to seek out a new engine supplier.[53] They later joined Ferrari's customer programme with Ferrari providing the team with both engine and powertrain for 2014 and beyond.[26]
  • Scuderia Toro Rosso secured an agreement with Renault for engines in 2014, ending their seven-year arrangement with Ferrari.[38]
  • Williams will part ways with Renault after two seasons, switching to Mercedes power in what the team described as a "long-term deal".[48] The deal came after Renault publicised their intentions to reduce their engine supply to three teams in 2014,[54] before the French manufacturer ultimately settled on supplying four.[23]

Driver changes

Daniel Ricciardo was chosen to take fellow countryman Mark Webber's place at Red Bull Racing after Webber's retirement from Formula One.

 The content on this site is Copyright © 2019 by formula1dvd.com  All Rights Reserved
This website is unofficial and is not associated in any way with the Formula One group of companies.
GRAND PRIX and related marks are trade marks of Formula One Licensing B.V

  Site Map