Sunday, May 29, 1994

with the great race legend Nigel Mansell

2 dvd set

Historical race with multiple stunning crashes


Stunning good footage + sound quality


 With the original American live commentary and no commercials breaks !

Racing legend Emerson Fittipaldi dominated the whole stunning race, Al Unser Jr. took the checkered flag after Emerson hit the wall hard and Roger Penske's power play turned into another Sunday drive for the best team at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The following 33 brave drivers appears at this great race:  Al Unser jr., Jacques Villeneuve, Bobby Rahal, Jimmy Vasser, Robby Gordon, Michael Andretti, Teo Fabi, Eddie Cheever, Bryan Herta, John Andretti, Mauricio Gugelmin, Brian Till, Stan Fox, Hiro Matsushita, Stefan Johansson, Scott Sharp, Emerson Fittipaldi, Arie Luyendyk, Lyn St. James, Scott Brayton, Raul Boesel. Nigel Mansell, Paul Tracy, Hideshi Matsuda, John Paul Jr., Dennis Vitolo, Marco Greco, Adrian Fernandez, Dominic Dobson, Scott Goodyear, Mike Groff, Mario Andretti  and  Roberto Guerrero.

1994 Indianapolis 500

The 78th Indianapolis 500 was held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday, May 29, 1994. Al Unser, Jr. won from the pole position, his second Indy 500 victory. Much to the surprise of competitors, media, and fans, Marlboro Team Penske arrived at the Speedway with a brand new, secretly-built 209 in³ (3.42 L) displacement Mercedes-Benz pushrod engine, which was capable of a reported 1,000 horsepower (750 kW).[1] Despite reliability issues with the engine[1] and handling difficulties with the chassis,[2][3] the three-car Penske team (Unser, Emerson Fittipaldi and Paul Tracy) dominated most of the month, and nearly the entire race.

On lap 185, while leading his teammate Unser by almost a full lap, Fittipaldi tagged the wall in turn 4, allowing Unser to cruise to victory.

The race marked the final Indy 500 for Mario Andretti, who retired after the 1994 season. Indy veterans Al Unser, Sr. and Johnny Rutherford also retired in the days leading up the race.

Starting Grid

1United States Al Unser Jr. (W)Brazil Raul BoeselBrazil Emerson Fittipaldi (W)
2Canada Jacques Villeneuve (R)United States Michael AndrettiUnited States Lyn St. James
3United Kingdom Nigel MansellNetherlands Arie Luyendyk (W)United States Mario Andretti (W)
4United States John AndrettiUnited States Eddie CheeverUnited States Dominic Dobson
5United States Stan FoxJapan Hideshi Matsuda (R)United States Dennis Vitolo (R)
6United States Jimmy VasserUnited States Scott Sharp (R)Japan Hiro Matsushita
7United States Robby GordonColombia Roberto GuerreroUnited States Brian Till (R)
8United States Bryan Herta (R)United States Scott BraytonItaly Teo Fabi
9Canada Paul TracyMexico Adrian Fernandez (R)Sweden Stefan Johansson
10United States Bobby Rahal (W)Brazil Maurício Gugelmin (R)United States John Paul, Jr.
11United States Mike GroffBrazil Marco Greco (R)Canada Scott Goodyear

 The content on this site is Copyright © 2019 by  All Rights Reserved
This website is unofficial and is not associated in any way with the Formula One group of companies.
GRAND PRIX and related marks are trade marks of Formula One Licensing B.V

  Site Map