Sunday, May 28, 1995


DVD with the original American live commentary and no commercials breaks !

"Only seconds after the field took the green flag on race day, driver Stan Fox went 100% out of control, triggering a five-car accident in turn one. On the way to the wall, Stan's machine collected Eddie Cheever's Indycar. Sandwiched between Fox's car and the unforgiving concrete, Cheever took quite a shot. But it was nothing compared to the the ride Fox took. After bouncing off Eddie Cheever's racer, Stan Fox hit the wall head-on. The force was so tremendous, that the bodywork literally exploded from the crumpled machine. Cheever was the first to arrive at Fox's destroyed Reynard 915, but there was little assistance he could offer the critically injured veteran. Veteran Indy-car driver Stan Fox faced many many months of hospital care and rehabilitation. Eventually he would totally recover from this near-fatal accident.

Stan Fox died on December 19, 2000 in an passenger-car accident in New Zealand. He was 48.

Winner of this stunning race was Jacques Villeneuve

   Absolute a very good quality recording of this stunning historical race.


The 79th Indianapolis 500 was held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday, May 28, 1995. Sanctioned by USAC, it was part of the 1995 CART Indycar season. Jacques Villenueve won in his second start. After dominating the 1994 race and the 1994 IndyCar season, Marlboro Team Penske failed to qualify for the race.[1] Defending Indy 500 winner Al Unser, Jr. (too slow) and Emerson Fittipaldi (bumped) could not get their cars up to speed.

On lap 190, with the field coming back to green on a restart, leader Scott Goodyear passed the pace car in turn four, and was assessed a stop-and-go penalty. Goodyear refused to serve the penalty, and stayed out on the track. Officials stopped scoring him on lap 195, which handed Jacques Villenueve the lead of the race, and ultimately, a controversial victory.[2]

The race was held under a growing cloud of uncertainty about the future of the sport of open wheel racing. The Speedway had already announced the formation of the rival Indy Racing League for 1996, and competitors, fans, and media alike, were apprehensive about the event's future beyond 1995. It ultimately would be the final Indy 500 which featured a field of CART-based drivers and teams. Due to retirements as well as the open wheel split months later, the race was the final Indy 500 for several drivers, including Bobby Rahal, Danny Sullivan, Teo Fabi, Scott Pruett, and Stefan Johansson.

Race recap

The race began with a horrible turn one crash on the first lap that eliminated several cars and seriously injured Stan Fox. Early on in the race Jacques Villeneuve, unaware that he was the leader due to a series of pit stops, passed the pace car during a caution. Officials ruled a two-lap penalty for the infraction and Villeneuve dropped from contention. However, thanks to fortuitous timing of yellows and pit strategy, Villeneuve came back from two laps down to be in fourth position as the race neared crunch time. He was promoted to second when first Jimmy Vasser, and then Scott Pruett crashed out while battling Scott Goodyear for the lead. On lap 190 Goodyear mis-timed the last restart and passed the pace car before it entered pit-road. Goodyear was not scored after lap 195 because he failed to serve the black flag penalty in the pits. Villeneuve was the winner of the 1995 Indianapolis 500.

Starting Grid

1United States Scott BraytonNetherlands Arie Luyendyk (W)Canada Scott Goodyear
2United States Michael AndrettiCanada Jacques VilleneuveBrazil Maurício Gugelmin
3United States Robby GordonUnited States Scott PruettUnited States Jimmy Vasser
4Japan Hiro MatsushitaUnited States Stan FoxBrazil André Ribeiro (R)
5Colombia Roberto GuerreroUnited States Eddie CheeverItaly Teo Fabi
6Canada Paul TracyItaly Alessandro Zampedri (R)United States Danny Sullivan (W)
7Brazil Gil de Ferran (R)Japan Hideshi MatsudaUnited States Bobby Rahal (W)
8Brazil Raul BoeselUnited States Buddy LazierChile Eliseo Salazar (R)
9Mexico Adrian FernándezBelgium Eric BachelartBrazil Christian Fittipaldi (R)
10United States Lyn St. JamesMexico Carlos Guerrero (R)United States Scott Sharp
11Sweden Stefan JohanssonUnited States Davy JonesUnited States Bryan Herta

   The content on this site is Copyright © 2008 by  All Rights Reserved
This website is unofficial and is not associated in any way with the Formula One group of companies. F1, FORMULA ONE, FORMULA 1, FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, GRAND PRIX and related marks are trade marks of Formula One Licensing B.V

  Site Map